Secret Stuff – “Earthbound”: Secret Stuff is an emo band from Nashville that has been around for a minute, but this is their first new song in almost two years, and I for one am excited as can be. A few years ago, I included them in the growing Nashville emo scene, and if this single is any indication, they still have it and are about to make some noise. From the very first note, I knew I was in for a treat. This single has that trademark Secret Stuff sound that I and many have come to love, and at the center of that are Michael Pfohl’s vocals. Bogues, another Nashville artist, is also on the track, which just adds to the overall feeling of the song. I really hope that when all this is done and touring can resume that the two tour together.

Executioner’s Mask – “Hatred of Self”: If 80s post-punk, bands like Joy Division, Bauhaus, Clan of Xymox, and many more are your poison, then you will 100% eat this single up. This track fits right on a playlist with all those great 80s post-punk bands, and I’m a fan. This is a group that has done their homework, and it shows. The vocals are dead on. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but if the remaining members of Joy Division ever did a reunion tour and had a new vocalist, then Jay Gambit is the guy for the job. I can already tell you that this song is going to be played on many a Friday night at my house during my Friday Night dance parties.

A Story Told – “Messed Around”: This is the third single that this pop unit has released this year after calling it a quits a few years back. And let me tell you, it’s one hell of a banger. I know our summer isn’t going to be the same, but this is still a summer jam. I feel they released it at just the right time. These are the type of songs we need right now. In the single above, I mentioned how it was perfect for my Friday night dance parties, well this one is for those early Saturday evening cookouts. It’s just a fun song. I really hope these guys are staying around this time. Their brand of pop-rock was missed. Welcome back, fellas!!!!!

Broadside – “Heavenly”: If you follow Tuned Up or me personally, then you knew this was coming. I’m a sucker for this band, and they just keep releasing bangers. I really hope that this album, their third, is the one that makes them stars. They deserve the world. Based on this single, it very well may finally happen. This beloved group may become the band I know they are capable of being. They finally may become a household name. This single is so powerful. Everything about it is on point, everything. The love that Ollie Baxxter is singing about in this song is that love that gives you butterflies when you think about it, the love that brings a smile to your face. And I’m here for it. With every single that is released from their upcoming album, I get more excited, and this one is the bee’s knees. I love it!!!!! A few years ago, their release Paradise was my summer album, well I have a feeling that Into the Raging Sea will be my summer album of 2020.

Check out these related articles:


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.